BHS names Queen’s Award nominations

By: Horse Deals

BHS names Queen’s Award nominations
BHS names Queen’s Award nominations
The British Horse Society has announced the nominations for this year’s BHS Queen’s Award for Equestrianism, which is made on the recommendation of the trustees for "Outstanding Services to Equestrianism".

Representatives were invited to nominate one candidate each. The nine nominations received are as follows:

Stephen Clarke FBHS (British Dressage
Rosemary Barlow (British Eventing)
Sydney Smith (British Horse Driving Trials Association)
Jane Goldsmith (The British Horse Society)
Ronnie Massarella (British Showjumping)
John Hudson (Endurance GB)
Dr Ernie Logan (BHS Ireland)
Ernest McMillen MBE (The Pony Club)
Maggie Bradley (Riding for the Disabled Association).

Chairman Patrick Print FBHS, said: "As one would expect for such a prestigious award, the calibre of nominees was extremely high. Although the services of each nominee were distinct in their own way, the unifying theme is that each has made a contribution to equestrianism, the value of which exceeds whatever they may have taken from the sport."